Review // Lush: Phoenix Rising Bath Bomb

They say when a phoenix dies, it bursts into flames and is then reborn through it’s ashes. The idea of the Phoenix always rising is a popular belief and therefore made this bath bomb on my to-try list, as well as having many people ask me to do a review on this one, and here it is.

phoenix rising bath bomb

Made by Lush: Fresh Handmade cosmetics

Today I am going to get right into it. If you don’t know anything about Lush or their company stand point, please either head to their website, or to my previous review in which I have done a brief overview of the company and what they stand for.

What lush said:

phoenixrising-500x500All the myth and magic of a Phoenix pressed into one bath time experience, which lets you arise at the end feeling refreshed and ready for the next 500 years. One of Lush’s patented double layer bath bombs, your Phoenix will sink to the bottom then rise in triumph, his mythical sparkling purple and green plumage unfurling through your bath water.  He’ll release gentle shea butter, cocoa butter and jojoba oil to leave your skin feather soft, and exotic essential oils of fruit and spices, which take your mind on a flight of fancy to distant shores where you are lying on a beach drinking spiced rum

What i thought:

As I mentioned this was one of my most asked for to complete a review for. It is obviously a popular bath bomb, since it has been around for a few years now and it is still quite commonly sold out most of the time. I was super excited to try this one out! At first the bath bomb simply sinks to the bottom straight away, and I though oh no my phoenix has died! But then it fizzes and started off in a pink haze which changed to a purple and then a deep lilac colour. For eight minutes my bath bomb did this and then it stopped. No ‘green plumage’ as described. No ‘rising to the surface’ as described. I thought maybe it was a delayed response? Did it have to wait then rise? After 10 minutes of footage, I decided to turn off the camera and feel around the bath for what I hoped was the remainder of the bath bomb that would eventually rise…but no. It was all dissolved. My phoenix didn’t rise. Now I’m not saying that it is a bad bath bomb! It certainly wasn’t! It was calming, relaxing smelled amazing with hints of musk, cinnamon and other spices. When I got into the bath my skin was instantly softened, and when I got out of the bath my skin was smooth, soft and had a protective layer of what I can only describe as ‘feathers’. Or at least it was as soft as feathers. So no the bath bomb was not all bad, but mine was certainly a broken bath bomb (if that’s possible) I have sent off an email to customer service, so we’ll see what they say! I shall edit when I get a reply!

For my ingredient conscientious followers

In the Phoenix Rising Bath Bomb we have the following synthetic ingredients (everything else is natural): Sodium bicarbonate softens the water and promotes circulation. In combination with citric acid – and hot water, of course – carbon dioxide is created. This appears as fizzing, whizzing bubbles. Bicarbonate of soda is very soothing, used for insect bites, eczema, and minor sunburn. It also calms indigestion and heartburn, and it is used for kidney complaints as well. It is being used to help neutralise acidic gases, which is helping to improve the environment.

PEG-6 Caprylic / Capric Glycerides & PEG-60 Almond Glycerides, yes a big list of words that all basically mean the same thing but different forms of it. Glycerides are a a mix of fatty acids and glycerol. They are describes as surfactants or skin conditioning agents due to their properties when mixed with salt or other products they aide in the breaking down of oils. Essentially it helps to cleanse and moisturise at the same time.

There are a few colours used in this bath bomb;  colour 42090, colour 77891, colour 77491 and colour 45410 are synthetics made from what I would assume is a plant based material, Lushopaedia did not mention this. It did however comment on colour 77491 that it is made from iron oxide which is basically ground up metals or rocks. Once I have a confirmation of the full materials used I will edit this section.

IMG_0155

So in all honesty it wasn’t great! But I am willing to try it again and when I do, I’ll add a section on here to guide you to a TEST TWO and I’m willing to do that, just to be proved wrong! But for now I will give it a 3/10. I was in a hype of this AMAZING bath bomb that was honestly just like a purple fizz bomb. I am honestly (and secretly) hoping test number two works out a lot better!!

Leave a Reply

